In order to maintain law and order in the state, a specific traffic code has been designed by the Government of Virginia. The code is to be followed by all counties lying under the flagship of Commonwealth of Virginia. Violation of this code by any individual or group of individuals result into hazardous consequences. Therefore, in order to ensure a safe and secure environment around, penalties are imposed on the guilty party. Reckless driving is considered to be a serious offense, even more than that of careless or heedless driving. Strict penalties are imposed in case if a person is found guilty of driving at a speed approaching to that of 80 mph, while paying no attention and care to the surroundings. Following are the penalties imposed in case of reckless driving:
- An outlaw is subjected to Class 1 misdemeanor;
- An outlaw is enforced with the penalties described in Class 6 Felony;
- An outlaw is sentenced with the imprisonment of approximately six months or in complex cases for a whole year;
- An outlaw is charged with six DMV points on the driving record which stays there for eleven consecutive years;
- An outlaw is charged with a heavy fine of up to $2500.
However, in severe cases all of these penalties are imposed on the outlaw. The penalties imposed depict the strictness of laws. Court sentences punishments imposed depending upon the previous record of the driver, therefore in case if a person already charged with 6 DMV points on the driving record can face further difficulties in driving activities for future. Therefore, an accused is advised to strive hard in order to reduce these penalties by claiming the offense committed to be safe. If proved correctly, the charge is reduced to an improper driving charge.
A traffic sergeant is not capable of issuing an improper driving ticket, it can only be approved by the court of police investigators. Improper driving in actual refers to the subtle form of the reckless driving charge. In case of improper driving following are the penalties imposed by the court:
- An outlaw is charged with a maximum fine of $500;
- An outlaw is charged with three demerit points on the driving record which stays there for three sequential years;
- An outlaw is not considered eligible for jail;
- An outlaw is not considered eligible for not driving(for a particular time frame)
This clearly depicts that improper driving charge is far lesser than that of reckless driving charge. In case if you are stuck in such a situation, you need not to worry as SRIS Law Group is here to help you out with it. We have legal experts who can deal with reckless driving charges intellectually. Our team includes trial lawyers and two former prosecutors who can proficiently deal with traffic violation charges smartly. All what you have to do is consult us immediately.