Individuals charged with driving under the influence of alcohol are charged with the DUI penalties. The penalty for driving while intoxicated is the criminal offense, leading towards the creation of criminal records of individuals. The Virginia Code § 18.2-270 mentioned that the individual who has been violating any of the provision of § 18.2-270 will be guilty of class 1 misdemeanor. The minimum fine for this violation will be $250. The Virginia DUI penalties are dependent on the blood alcohol level indicated by the chemical test. The offender having at least 0.15 but less than 0.20 blood alcohol level can experience jail sentence. The Virginia DUI penalties also indicated that individual having the blood alcohol level more than 0.20 can also be confined to jail for the additional period of minimum ten days.
According to the Virginia DUI penalties, individuals convicted of a second offense committed within the period of fewer than five years after a prior offense under the Virginia code § 18.2-266 can be charged with the mandatory minimum fine of $500 and the prison sentence for the duration of one month to one year. Under certain circumstances, the imprisonment can also range for the period of twenty days. The Virginia DUI penalties differ for individuals who have committed the similar offense within the period of five years to ten years of the prior offense can be charged with the fine of $500 and prison sentence for the duration of not less than one month. The minimum prison sentence, in this case, includes ten days of confinement.
Virginia Code § 18.2-266 also mentioned that charge for the conviction of second offense within the ten years of the prior offense is strongly dependent on the results of the chemical test. The blood alcohol level exceeding the prescribed limit will lead towards additional penalties in the form of fine and prison sentence. The Virginia DUI penalties also differ on the basis of age of the offender. For instance, if the individual under the age of 21 commits this offense and driving under the influence of drugs having the alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher, the penalties are similar to individual more than 21 years. In addition, if the alcohol concentration in blood lies between the ranges 0.02 to 0.07, the individual will receive under 21 DUI penalties, also known as zero tolerance penalties.
If you have convicted of any of the DUI-related offense, you are required to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your own vehicle or the vehicle you are intending to drive. The installation of IID is mandatory under all circumstances regardless of the alcohol concentration in blood and other factors. The severity of penalties is dependent on the alcohol concentration in blood and multiple convictions can result in harsher sentences. We provide you with the platform for getting legal assistance for dealing with these legal matters. If you are convicted for DUI, we assure you to provide complete assistance; even we can dismiss charges on you. We welcome you to discuss your case and assure you complete cooperation and expert legal advice for clearing your criminal record.